About

Our 1600+ membership includes inside electrical wiremen, and employees working in cable television, electrical equipment servicing, government, radio-television broadcasting, and the telephone industry. Our Union Hall is located at 3000 Troy-Schenectady Road, Niskayuna, NY 12309.

This is the official web site of IBEW Local 236. It is our intent to have this site serve as an informational tool for our Local 236 membership, for our International Brotherhood and for anyone interested in who we are. Upcoming events, special announcements, called meetings, meeting changes and whatever is relevant and important to the members will be posted and updated on a timely basis.

Training

In 1941 the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) and the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) jointly formed the National Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee (NJATC) to produce the best trained electrical workers in the country.

Local 236 and the Albany Chapter of NECA sponsor the Tri-City Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee. The Training Center is located at 428 Old Niskayuna Road, Latham, NY 12110. Please visit the Tri-City JATC website, http://www.tricityjatc.org,  for apprenticeship application dates and qualifications.  You can also look for our recruiters manning booths and setups at various job fairs throughout the Local 236 region.

The Apprenticeship Committee is also in charge of coordinating Journeyman upgrade classes including courses in instrumentation, welding, VDV, medium voltage splicing, photovoltaic and other aspects of the trade. In the future, as these courses are scheduled they will be announced on this website.

Satellite Office

The Local 236 satellite office is located in the rear of 3 Hemphill Place in the Parade Ground Village on Route 9 in Malta, NY.  The Malta office is open as needed and currently does not hold regular hours.

Meet Our Board & Staff

Office Staff & Contact Information

Ken Hart, Referral Agent / khart@ibew236.org
Mike Martell, Assistant/Unit Rep / mmartell@ibew236.org
Daniel Dudley, Business Development/Unit Rep / ddudley@ibew236.org
Kevin Fuller, Membership Development / kfuller@ibew236.org
Christopher Lambert, Membership Development / clambert@ibew236.org
Evelyn Ostrander, Office Manager/Executive Assistant / eostrander@ibew236.org
Steve Rifenburg, Assistant / srifenburg@ibew236.org
Kathie Smith, Membership Service Specialist / ksmith@ibew236.org

IBEW Local 236 Officers

Michael Mastropietro, Business Manager/Financial Secretary
John Mosher, President
Jason Doty, Vice President
Michael Torres, Treasurer
William Bulger, Recording Secretary

IBEW Local 236 Executive Board

  • Alfred Blakley
  • Timothy Healey
  • Christopher Kern
  • Christopher Lambert
  • Scott Lawson II
  • Paul Nylin
  • Douglas Watrobski

Labor Trustees

Michael Mastropietro
John Mosher
Michael Martell

Employer Trustees

Joseph Gross
Chris Spraragen
Brian Hart

JATC Committee

Michael Mastropietro
John Mosher
Steven Rifenburg
Chris Lambert

Joseph Miner
Ralph Cioffi
Brian Hart
Steven Chamberlain

Our History

IBEW Local 236 was formed in 1999 as an amalgamation of three smaller locals – Local 166 in Schenectady, NY, Local 724 in Albany, NY and Local 438 in Troy, NY. Since then, our Local has been instrumental in providing trained and qualified manpower to our contractors for many area projects including:

  • GlobalFoundries – Malta, NY
  • LaFarge Cement Plant – Ravena, NY
  • Rivers Casino and Resort – Schenectady, NY
  • SUNY Polytechnic Institute – Albany, NY
  • Albany Medical Center – Albany, NY
  • GE Research and Development Center – Niskayuna, NY
  • RPI EMPAC – Troy, NY
  • Regeneron – Rensselaer, NY
  • Athens Cogeneration Plant – Athens, NY
  • Bethlehem Energy Center – Glenmont, NY

Come be a part of our history! Find out how to Join Us today!